180g 4LP Set Includes Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame Trio's Entire 2002 Performance In Rio de Janeiro Plus 2 Bonus Tracks From The Same Tour!


Following a nearly five-year break from touring, Rush returned to the stage in 2002 to support the trio's seventeenth studio album, Vapor Trails. During the tour, Geddy Lee, Alex Lifeson and Neil Peart played to some of the biggest crowds of the band's career, including 40,000 people at the tour's final stop in Rio de Janeiro. That concert was released in 2003 as Rush In Rio, which was certified gold in the U.S. and Canada. That live album was originally released on CD and DVD, but has never appeared on vinyl – until now.


Rush In Rio will be available in January 2019 as four 180-gram LPs. The set is presented in a heavyweight gatefold jacket and also comes with an accompanying download code. The collection includes all 29-songs the Rock and Roll Hall of Famers' performed at the concert in Rio, plus two bonus tracks that were recorded at other stops during the Vapor Trails Tour. "Between Sun & Moon" was recorded on September 27, 2002 in Phoenix, AZ and "Vital Signs" was recorded on October 19, 2002 in Quebec City, Quebec.


Guitarist Alex Lifeson states, "In all the years of touring, few gigs matched the energy we witnessed from the Rio audience. Throughout the night, they sang along to every song, which was quite a feat considering English is not so commonly spoken there. They even sang robustly during ‘YYZ' and that's an instrumental! In fact, during mixing, we often pulled the band tracks down and just listened to the audience and it was mind-blowing. We were all so surprised by the welcome we received and the deep connection our fans had to Rush. It remains one of the greatest highlights we've experienced in over 40 years of touring."

Making the show in Rio rare and extraordinary, fan favorites that are rarely played together on the same night were peppered throughout the set list. This included the sprawling sci-fi epic "2112," as well as "Closer To The Heart," "YYZ," "Freewill," "New World Man," "Tom Sawyer," and "Limelight." One of concert's high points is Peart's drum solo, which is titled "O Baterista," Portuguese for "the drummer." That performance earned the group a Grammy Award-nomination for the Best Rock Instrumental Performance.


The songs that appear on Rush In Rio span the group's entire career up to that point, including several tracks from Vapor Trails: "Earthshine," "One Little Victory," "Ghost Rider" and "Secret Touch." The remainder of the set list touches on most of Rush's studio albums, including 1996's Test For Echo ("Driven," and a rare acoustic performance of "Resist"); 1984's Grace Under Pressure ("Distant Early Warning" and "Red Sector A"); 1980's Permanent Waves ("The Spirit Of Radio" and "Natural Science") and 1974's self-titled debut ("Working Man").

• 180g 4LP-set
• Originally released on CD and DVD, but never available on vinyl – until now
• Heavyweight gatefold jacket packaging
• Download code

Rush - In Rio (4LP Box Set)

SKU: 081227934330

    28 South Courthouse Square, Newnan GA 30262



    Come Visit


    28 South Court Square, Newnan GA 30263



    Newnan Unplugged shows start at 7pm

    • White Facebook Icon
    • White Instagram Icon